Is It Seriously Illegal to Cuss in Texas?
Sometimes, the best way to get your point across is to use a little foul language. I've always been a pretty big fan of curse words. I can't help it. It feels good to yell the f-word when you stub your toe. And sometimes, the woman driving like a maniac in front of you is a real...well, it rhymes with 'ditch.'
It is what it is.
So, is cussing actually illegal in the state of Texas? Let's find out.
The government has to really step lightly around the issue so as not to impede your freedom of speech. However, certain types of foul language can still fall under Texas' disorderly conduct statute, according to Saputo Law. If your language in a public place is interpreted as indecent, abusive, profane or vulgar, or incites some kind of breach of peace, then you could definitely get in trouble with the law.
Disorderly conduct charges can cost you quite a bit of money. A Class C Misdemeanor carries a fine of up to $500, and a Class B Misdemeanor could get you up to 6 months in jail and a $2,000 fine. Not cool.
All of that for just a couple of words seems pretty stupid to me, but hey, I don't write the law around these parts. If I did, we'd all get a free pizza on Fridays paid for by the government, and a $1,000 allowance each month just for doing our own dishes.
However, I do understand why these rules are necessary. To me, it simply comes down to bullying and intimidating others around you. Nobody likes a bully. Luckily, I use my foul mouth for good and not evil.